Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Comb in the wrong place -- what to do next?  (Read 3553 times)

Offline nursestryker

• New Bee
Comb in the wrong place -- what to do next?
« on: July 04, 2014, 09:10:58 pm »
I am new to Beemaster, so sorry if this has been previously posted.
I set up my first hive this spring.  On the advice of the supplier, I put a trough style top feeder in the top super, and accidently used a deep super instead of a shallow honey super.  When I went to open the hive the first time, I found a lot of natural comb built in the top super and attached to the top feeder and the frames in the next super below it. 
The hive is doing well, the bees seem happy - I just need advice on what to do with the natural comb.
Can I fix it now?
Should I wait until fall?
How should I go about fixing it?
Thank you for any and all advice/assistance. 

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Comb in the wrong place -- what to do next?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2014, 10:11:50 pm »
Nurse,
Take empty frames and put 3 rubber bands on each end of the frames. Use 1/8 inch or narrower bands so that the bees will bee able to cut them.
Cut the comb out of the super, note which way is up and maintain it, place it in the frame and slide the rubber bands to hold it in place.
Smoke your hands real well before you start. Slowly slide your hand onto the comb, the bees will move out of the way. Use a thin knife to cut the comb. Move the knife slowly and the bees will move out of the way.
The comb will bee very soft. Handle gently. If you need to wear gloves, use thin nylon gloves so that you can feel the comb.
If you wait until later it gets harder to do.
If it is attached to the top, have something available to hang the lid from while you cut the comb.
Just this week, I had to use the frame of a PVC chair to hang 12" long comb from an empty hive a swarm moved into.
If the comb is attached to the sides, slide the top a little and use a long knife to free it.
Good luck.
Jim