Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Honey from hives for hikers  (Read 3479 times)

Offline Serp

• New Bee
Honey from hives for hikers
« on: September 27, 2007, 02:26:08 pm »
Quick question, if i were to find a hive in the wild- would i be able to pour water into the combs, through a screen and into a pot.
then boil the pot down to get rid of the moisture and turn it back into honey?

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
Re: Hello, newbie here
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2007, 02:35:57 pm »
You will ruin the honey by heating it that hot.  You are better off doing crush and strain.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline Serp

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2007, 02:44:08 pm »
wat about a gradual heating away of moisture? the reason i ask is because i go on hikes occasionally for weeks at a time, this other method u speak of- is it easy and dooes it require any equiptment?

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2007, 02:49:20 pm »
A piece of cheese cloth and a container to let the honey drip into.   Sounds like you would be better of to just chew the comb and spit out the wax.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline Serp

• New Bee
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2007, 02:54:18 pm »
man, bees rock
the wax is good for candles
and the honey, oh the honey:D

thnx for the method- im mostly interested in storing the honey though, but theres so many predators out there lookin fer this sweet nectar, i dont wanna keep it out too long for that reason- so how long would it roughly take to extract a fair shaped hive? and i take it some residual heat from a fire would speed the process... would u say itd take under a day with the fire?

Offline johnnybigfish