Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Combining bees with other bees in cold temperatures?  (Read 2404 times)

Offline GDRankin

• House Bee
    • The Bee Place
Combining bees with other bees in cold temperatures?
« on: November 16, 2014, 07:28:36 pm »
First off . . . The temps have been down in the 40s here the last several days and even though it's been misting rain for most of yesterday and today, today is the first day my bees have been moving in almost a week.

Secondly, I do removals, but this is my first year doing so and haven't run into this situation before.

I received a call last night from a lady asking me if I'd come get some bees that are in a hollow limb which was cut from a tree a couple of days ago. Evidently the tree guys were able to take out a tree and removed the hollow bee filled limb by "spraying salty water" on them, or so she claimed she thought the guy said. (likely a language barrier - I think he likely said "soapy water", but with a Spanish accent may have sounded to her like "salty water")

At any rate, she now has a pile of brush on the curb which is to be picked up by the city tomorrow and thought it'd better to have someone like me remove the limb and bees vs having the city crew get stung and likely leave her brush pile there in front of her house.

Since the weather folks are saying the temps are expected to get lower again tonight and stay that way for a few more days, and the lady says there's not a whole lot of bees left, I'm a little concerned about their survival when I get them back to my place.

It's less than a half hour away, or I may not even mess with them, but hey . . . she an elderly lady and called looking for help, so I'm headed that way now.
I'm wondering what's the best method for keeping these bees healthy and if I should consider combining them with one of my hives under the current conditions?