Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hello from the eastern Shore of Maryland.  (Read 2700 times)

Offline Cossack

• House Bee
Hello from the eastern Shore of Maryland.
« on: September 09, 2008, 10:41:09 am »
Hello everyone,

My Ukrainian Grandfather regretfully passed away in April of 2008. He was a retired farmer and as long as I can remember he had raised honey bees. He had 9 Bee hives. After his passing no one in the family wanted or showed an interest in taking care of the bees. It was suggested that I should raise and care for them. I took an interest in them and began to read several books on Bees. My Uncle began to teach me with "hands on experience." I had caught 4 swarms in the spring and now have 13 hives. I have extracted and filtered approximately 20 gallons of Honey this Summer. I have given away alot of the bottled honey to friends and neighbors in an attempt to get a market. I have learned alot from my Uncle and the books I have read but I know that I am still a novice/begginer and have a long way to go.
     I am excited to have found this site and am sure I will still have many questions that I know will be answered here.
I had a dream last night, I was eating a 10 pound marshmallow. I woke up this morning and the pillow was gone.....

Offline EasternShore

• House Bee
  • Tending 50K angry insects is just .........crazy!
    • OMG Apiary
Re: Hello from the eastern Shore of Maryland.
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2008, 11:09:20 am »
WELCOME!!!!!! BUZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

Hi from over in Chestertown, Let me know if you need anything...I had a slower start than you with only 3 hives, but my mentor is the Pres of Deleware Bee Assoc. and has been a world of info for me.

If you ever get over this way call me and we can get together! I'm right off 301.

703-403-0745
Mark

Menya Zavut Mark!  Ochen Priyatno! (Written by my better half who speaks Russian.)
Anything worth doing is worth doing well.