Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: First Swarm Collection  (Read 2868 times)

Offline malachii

• New Bee
    • Bluegum Gold
First Swarm Collection
« on: October 19, 2010, 03:26:32 am »
G'day All,

I'm a newbie here (but have lerked for a few weeks!) so please go easy on me!

I collected my first swarm on sunday and put it into a new hive.  The bees dont seem to be doing much - cant see any returning with pollen and quite a few just crawl around the outside of the hive.  When I opened the hive this morning there was a clump of bees clinging to the frame of honey I had put in there to help them along but they didn't seem to be very active.  Completely different to my other hive.

Have I done something wrong (eg killed or not collected the queen) or does it take them a day or two to settle down?  Is there anything I should do to help them?

malachii

Offline philinacoma

• House Bee
Re: First Swarm Collection
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2010, 03:57:41 am »
It is possible you don't have the queen. But then the queen may not be ready to lay if it's a secondary swarm.

Describe how the swarm collection went.

Offline malachii

• New Bee
    • Bluegum Gold
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2010, 04:55:47 am »