Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Help needed fast  (Read 1751 times)

Offline Dange

• House Bee
Help needed fast
« on: May 19, 2013, 11:43:11 pm »
I checked my hive two weeks ago everything was great. This is the second year for this hive. Tight brood pattern. Plenty of stores of honey and pollen no mites or any other sign of disease.  Checked today no queen no eggs limited larva. The hive was very gentle too.  In any of my inspections I noticed two queen cups that are still in the same spot no eggs or larva either in them. I did notice drone brood but very limited like a normal hive. It's weird that it started when the drones started hatching. But y didnt they make a new queen? What could have happened and what should I do? This is my only hive so I don't have other eggs I could put in. Help please.

Moots

Re: Help needed fast
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2013, 11:48:37 pm »
I'm new at this game so maybe others will have some other idea.  However, if you don't have a frame of eggs to give them, I think trying to buy a queen ASAP is really your only other option.

Offline don2

• Doak
  • Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2013, 11:58:35 pm »
Do you have space for the queen to lay?

You will have queen "cups" all the time they are about 1/4th the size of a grown cell. they are ready in case there is a need for them.
They don't make a queen cell just to be making one.  Either they swarm or replace the old queen, or raise an emergency queen if needed. As long as you have open brood,"not capped" I would wait on adding a new queen. If they are in the first stages of rearing a new queen they will not accept another queen. 

I don't know about all these claims of having laying workers so early after a queen is gone. not saying you have that, I once had a colony that was queen less for 42 days, no laying workers, they took the new queen readily. :) d2

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2013, 01:12:29 pm »