Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hive congestion  (Read 2316 times)

Offline KONASDAD

• Super Bee
Hive congestion
« on: July 07, 2006, 01:46:03 pm »
Did an inspection. Both my upper and lower deeps seem to be very honeybound and full. I added a med super three weeks ago and only 5-10% drawn. I sprayed w/ sugar water to see if it would entice them to pick up the speed.
       My question is, Should I remove a board or two of honey and add undrawn frames? I only have undrawn as this is my first year and no hives to borrow from. Other than some occassional queen cells in the middle of the frames, there appears to be no problems. I have had no stoppage in brood rearing. If they'ver superceded or swarmed, I cant tell. Eggs are hard to find, but I lack no brood and larvae. I attempted to feed two weeks ago, but they had no interest and almost none of it was used.
Additionally, I purchased pierco drone frames. How  do I begin the process of utylizing this method of mite reduction?
"The more complex the Mind, the Greater the need for the simplicity of Play".

Offline amymcg

• Field Bee
    • http://www.mcglothlinmusic.com
Hive congestion
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2006, 02:45:30 pm »
You may want to pull a frame or two of honey out  and replace with foundation.

don't feed them

Give them time, they will draw it and fill it.

Offline NWIN Beekeeper

• Professional Beekeeper
  • House Bee
Keep Brood Area Open - Drone Frames
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2006, 07:23:16 pm »
Its a good idea to keep the brood area open between frosts.