Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Left the observation window open yesterday on the TBH.......  (Read 4242 times)

Offline dsj21

• New Bee
I have 1 Langstroth and 1 TBH. On the TBH I had the carpenter install a small plexiglass window with a wooden sliding cover over it. Always a thrill to look in and see them and show them to others. But after inspection yesterday I looked from my house back to the hives(about 100yds.) and saw that I had failed to slide the cover back closed. I was tired and just said to myself, Ahh, it won't hurt nothing. Well when I got home from church today I looked over at the hives and nearly had the big one. I'll try here to post a picture of it. This is my first attempt at this so be patient.

Being a new beekeeper and never having personally observed a swarm( or bearding), I wasn't sure it was from leaving the window open. But apparently they were just disoriented some way by either letting light in or being able to see there sisters as they were coming in for a landing. But for some reason they wouldn't go inside.
  After hastily suiting up, I shut the window.  I gently scraped up as many as I could and shook them back into the hive. It must have worked as it's been business as usual the rest of the day.
  Please let me know if I stumbled on to the correct way to post a picture, where someone besides me can see it. I'd like to share a picture more often. I can't tell you how much this new beekeeper has been helped by the pics many of you have posted. Hopefully my next picture will be of  something more intelligent on my part  time.