Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: How far to move a hive  (Read 1328 times)

Offline Stung

• New Bee
How far to move a hive
« on: July 04, 2013, 11:14:16 am »
I am new at beekeeping. I just had a swarm take off. I believe it to be because the site I pick before the leaves came out, is now shady most off the day. I check under the mite board and it was saturated. I took the board out and raised the bottom with 2x4s for more air. I want to move them out about 30ft. How far should I move them at a time, and how long should I wait before moving them farther out again.

Offline Psparr

• Field Bee
Re: How far to move a hive
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2013, 11:15:50 am »
If you move them and block the entrance for three days you'll be fine

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2013, 11:28:56 am »
If you block the entrance, bee sure they have good ventilation.
I recommend that you close up the entrance after dark, use a red light, move them, and put a tree branch in front of the entrance that tells them something has changed.
If you only have one hive in the are, they will be fine.
I have moved them 50 feet, my first year, and only a dozen or so went back to the old location. I put a super with a lid and a few frames,  in the old location. Then in the evening moved it on top of the inner cover. The second day very few bees went back to the old location.
Jim
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Offline JWChesnut

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2013, 11:40:00 am »
((not sure unsatisfactory conditions induce swarming, as opposed to absconding.  In my experience, swarming occurs when hives are 'doubling'.))