Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Newby with a queston-how many supers?  (Read 3173 times)

Offline BRIANCJ

• New Bee
Newby with a queston-how many supers?
« on: November 23, 2008, 10:38:38 am »
I am just getting started and was going to purchase the English Garden Hive from Brushy Mountain.It comes with 2 Supers.Do I need to order a third super in order to produce honey?

Offline Irwin

• Super Bee
  • howdy all
Re: Newby with a queston-how many supers?
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2008, 10:59:10 am »
I'm new too but there one thing that I do know is is that you will need more supers I think what you got is a brood box and you need more for honey. I got a brood box a deep and a medium for brood and they took off so fast that I didn't have the time to get a medium for Honey and they swarmed so now I have at least 3 for spring and going to get more for a split. Good luck with your bee's just make sure you have plenty of box's for your bee's.
Fight organized crime!  Re-elect no one.

Offline BRIANCJ

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2008, 11:04:27 am »
That's what I thought.I guess I shold get at least a 2nd pair of super's then?

Offline Greg Peck

• House Bee
    • GregsBees.com
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2008, 11:10:44 am »
You dont need extra supers for the bees to produce honey. They will produce where ever they are. I think you are asking do you need an additional super for the bees to make you some honey. It looks like that hive is 2 deep supers (hive bodies). The "normal" set up would be 2 deeps for the bees then additional medium or shallow supers for you.  If you are starting with a package of bees this coming year you probably will be fine without buying the additional supers this year. but you never know I have had packages produce excess honey their first year.