Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: bees in tree  (Read 3306 times)

Offline joe goble

• New Bee
bees in tree
« on: July 31, 2008, 03:43:17 am »
the bees are in a tree that we would like to keep. i can see the combs hanging down. the opening of the tree is about 5 inchs wide at the widest and about 27 inchs long. i have a box that is about 1 foot off of the ground. it has plastic frames they are old frames with no was or comb on them at all. how do i go about getting them in the box will swam lure work or should i smoke them and pull out the combs. i am new to beekeeping and will take any ideas i can get thanks

Offline JP

• The Swarm King
  • Universal Bee
  • I like doing cut-outs, but I love catching swarms!
    • JPthebeeman.com
Re: bees in tree
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2008, 06:25:59 am »
You need to physically remove brood sections with eggs to have a chance of them making a new queen. If you are extremely, extremely lucky to find the queen, catch her and cage her in your hive set up, most of the bees will enter your box, at some point, but it is doubtful you will get her to leave the tree or other bees for that matter with swarm lure.

You could try forcing them out with bee quick but without eggs or the queen you will not be saving this colony.

Trees are tricky if you can't cut into them to transfer combs.

...JP
My Youtube page is titled JPthebeeman with hundreds of educational & entertaining videos.

My website JPthebeeman.com http://jpthebeeman.com

Offline joe goble

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2008, 11:42:46 pm »
thanks for the info jp the tree is to big to cut down about 4 foot wide. how long do you think the three comb i can see are. do you think there is more than three combs. would it help if i would get a nuc or a package of bees and add these bees to it to make the hive stronger. would a nuc or a package of bees plus these bees last the winter i live in northwest ohio thanks

Offline JP

• The Swarm King
  • Universal Bee
    • JPthebeeman.com