Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: I'm Brand Spankin' New  (Read 11842 times)

Offline thomashton

• House Bee
I'm Brand Spankin' New
« on: October 30, 2004, 01:44:37 am »
Hello everyone!
I'm not only brand new to this forum, I'm brand new to beekeeping. I'm so brand new I don't even have a hive.

I am a 30 yr old National Guard soldier living in Iraq and will be returning early next year to the states. I will be moving to Northern Utah (Cache Valley) and am interested in hearing from anyone in the state with good advice that is state specific.

In real life (not Army life), I  am a field biologist for a private consulting firm and do field surveys to make sure new construction complies with federal laws (NEPA). So, it is my job to know plants, flowers and animals. Beekeeping seems like a rewarding natural extension of my livelihood. Plus, I've been interested in it since I was a boy growing up in Orem, UT seeing my neighbors' whitewashed boxes across the fence and wondering why I wasn't getting stung everytime I went in the backyard. In fact, the only time I ever remember gettiing stung was thousands of miles away while living in the former Soviet Union for a couple years!

Anyway, I thought now would be a good time for me to get my "reading" knowledge up on beekeeping while so far away and hopefully when I return I can find someone willing to let me come and observe and inspection or harvest and get me off on the right foot.

Thanks for all the great posts and to John for the wonderful website.

(Sgt. Tom) Ashton
After 18 months of reading and preparation, my girls finally arrived on April 11th (2006)!

Offline golfpsycho

• House Bee
I'm Brand Spankin' New
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2004, 02:07:02 am »
Tom