Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Small Cell Beekeeping Questions from a Newbee  (Read 7977 times)

Offline winenutguy

• House Bee
Small Cell Beekeeping Questions from a Newbee
« on: September 23, 2008, 09:03:03 pm »
I'm brand new to beekeeping, in fact I don't even have bee's yet.  Since I decided to start raising bee's I've been doing alot of reading.  I've decided to not use chemicals or antibiotics with my bee's.  I've also been reading about small cell size and how it seems to contribute to fewer mites in the hive.  Can a newbie start from the beginning using small cell foundation?  If so, what are some good first steps to take?  What type of bee should you use?  Which type of queen?  By the way I live in N.W. Washington so we get quite a bit of wet weather.  Not sure this matters but I though I would mention it.  Thank you all in advance for any advice.  Winenutguy.

Offline poka-bee

• Super Bee
  • I am NEVER bored!!
    • Darby Farms
Re: Small Cell Beekeeping Questions from a Newbee
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2008, 09:59:22 pm »
I got my bees this spring & installed on small cell foundation.  The packages are like a swarm & are just glad to be out of that little box!  I put a queen excluder (includer) under the bottom box just in case she had any ideas of leaving!  Took it off after a couple of weeks & they have been going gangbusters since..well except for when I starved em... :oops:  Took awhile but now they have 4 boxes each of beautiful small cell.  (I have 8frm meds)There are posts on here about the subject if you search.  Michael Bush has lots of info on his website too.  Jody
I'm covered in Beeesssss!  Eddie Izzard

Offline sc-bee

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2008, 10:10:45 pm »
Check Michael Bushes website:

http://www.bushfarms.com/bees.htm
John 3:16

Offline annette

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2008, 11:01:32 pm »