Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Pullman Washington, New Bee  (Read 2809 times)

Offline Tucker1

• House Bee
  • "The Morning Breaks, The Shadows Flee.....
Pullman Washington, New Bee
« on: March 22, 2008, 08:28:53 pm »
What a wonderful forum you've created. I find it both very informative and a bit humorous. As you've already guessed, I'm completely new to beekeeping and know every little about bees or beekeeping. To give you a little background, I'm a engineer by training, and grey behind the ears from teenagers. The whole idea of beekeeping seems amazing to me. By nature, I'm a avid reader.....which means I know where to find information about bees, but I have no experience with bees. I guess what I'm trying to say is I've read a little about beekeeping, but have absolutely no experience. On April 12th, I'll pick up a 3 pound package of bees and a Carnolian queen in Spokane and place them in a new hive. I have two brood boxes, 2 small supers, plus an assortment of other supplies in my basement. I have a top feeder ready for them, as well as some Brood Booster, should I need it. In some ways, I'm like the nervous future father in the waiting room at the hospital.  I've watched the package bee hiving video at least 7 or 8 times. We had snow just yesterday, so I'm a bit worried about their first few weeks in Washington State. I understand the bees are coming from California, so this may be a bit of a shock for them.

My wife gets a chuckle out me in my white bee suit. The whole endeavor should prove very entertaining for my family. It's all good natured teasing, which is to be expected in my family.