Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hive inspections  (Read 2284 times)

Offline jgarzasr

• House Bee
Hive inspections
« on: July 26, 2005, 10:27:35 am »
I need some info/help.  This is my first year beekeeping - never had anything to do with beekeeping before this year - so what I have learned is from the net, books, and classes.  However nothing beats hands on.  My problem/question is this:  when I started my packages this year - inspecting the hives were pretty simple with only the one deep.  I was able to remove one frame and then inspect all other frames - no problem. Now that I have the two deeps - with bees boiling over and the top deep full of honey - inspecting is a little harder.  I am wondering how you guys go about getting down to the bottom deep.  I went out for an inspection this past Saturday  - and when I was finished inspecting the top deep - which was mostly honey - with some brood but not much, I went to try and remove the whole (top)deep to expose the bottom deep - I nearly broke my back - this thing was so heavy I could hardly lift it.  When I did get it removed the bees were in a pretty bad mood - and they were in such great numbers flying and hitting my veil - that I just put it back on top (barely making it)  and didn't inspect the brood box.  Not to mention the sweat dripping down and my clothes soaked you could wring them out.  Can Any of you give me some help on making this inspection easier?  Please!.... also do any of you know of a video or DVD that shows hive inspections?

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
Hive inspections
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2005, 10:50:14 am »
>I am wondering how you guys go about getting down to the bottom deep.

Who goes down to the bottom box in the middle of the flow?  I don't want to lift all those full supers!