Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: overwintering and breaking treatment regime  (Read 3170 times)

Offline ccar2000

• House Bee
overwintering and breaking treatment regime
« on: April 16, 2011, 12:06:39 pm »
As a hobbyist my focus is keeping two healthy bee hives and not to have them keeping me!
It is my intention to do this with the minimal amount of treatment possible.
I am in favor of manipulations such as opening the brood nest, checkerboarding and changing the hive size to accommodate growth or for seasonal preparedness. I would prefer the bees supersede rather than swarm.

My inexperience along with the area/climate where I live, it seems to be a challenge to keep bees. And after two failed attempts to have a hive survive winter I am opting to treat for Nosema with a Fumagilin treatment in September/October to help with overwintering.

The question I have has to do with purchasing Russian/Carniolian packages, hiving them and getting them acclimated or naturalized and have the strength to go without the antibiotic.
What should my long term game plan/process be?

Is it by weaning them by dilution of the fall treatment?
Is it by not treating them the second year, after they survive the winter?
Or quit cold turkey after they supersede?

I am looking for good direction/instruction
It is what it is

Offline forrestcav

• House Bee
Re: overwintering and breaking treatment regime
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2011, 03:11:29 pm »
check with micheal bush, he's on here and has a link to his site. He doesn't treat.
Just a beek trying to get ready for winter.

Offline VolunteerK9

• Super Bee
  • Gamecock fan in UT land.
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2011, 06:54:50 pm »
This is my second year keeping bees. I started with packages last year and never treated with anything. If they survive they are what I want, if not, Ill find some that can. I believe a large part of survivability is genetic diversity and good, clean comb.

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com