Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Equipment Dimensions  (Read 3004 times)

Offline NCBee

• New Bee
Equipment Dimensions
« on: September 27, 2006, 09:21:44 am »
Ok, I am new at this and have a question? I am planning on putting two new hives together for the spring, and splitting the one hive I have now into the new equipment. I am looking in all the trade catalogs and trying to decide what I want. After seeing so much on here, as well as other forums, and reading about various things, to include screened bottom boards and slatted racks, I have decided that those two things are on my list of must haves. I also like the way the hive stand looks, so I want that as well. Here is my question, in the better bee catalog, the hive stand width is listed as 16 1/4", the screened bottom board is listed as 16 3/4", and the slatted rack is listed as being 16 3/8" wide.  This is as much as 1/2" variation in component width.  
Why do none of these items match up for a nice neat fit??  :?:  :?:  
And in the photo of the screened bottom board, they have it sitting on a regular bottom board that is reversed and a debris tray slid under. If this is good, does it not defeat the ventilation part of having the screened bottom? And this would also cause for an uneven entry if used with the hive stand, correct?

Offline NCBee

• New Bee
Company response
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2006, 11:56:31 am »
I have an e-mail into the company.  I will post the reason that they give me.  Also, I suggested that they modify the hive stand to allow an opening in the back, under the screened bottom board, with some slatts to support a debris tray.  The beekeepers that keep the screened board open would be able to use this much the same as the beekeepers that use a solid bottom board under the screened board.  I think it would be nice, but that is just me.  :idea:

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
Equipment Dimensions
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2006, 07:29:14 pm »