Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: New ohio guy here  (Read 2693 times)

Offline Joshb12885

• New Bee
New ohio guy here
« on: June 25, 2009, 01:07:13 am »
Hello all, I have been reading posts on this site for a while now and finally decided to register  :-D. I have been involved with honeybees for about a year and a half now. I started out helping a friend of mine with her 2 hives last spring and last summer we made splits off of her hives which became father's day gifts for my dad last year. My dad had really taken to his bees and his hives have done really well we have increased to about 12 hives in just over a year. 8 of the hives are occupying 2 deeps right now 6 of them have supers on and the others are just building up from nucs with lots of young laying queens!

If anyone else is in Ohio and interested in talking bees hit me up. Also I wouldn't mind talking to other people either.

I am currently a graduate student in entomology at the Ohio state University. I am not studying honey bee biology but I do have a lot of experience with care and general husbandry of insects. I have had some experience teaching college students about the basics of honey bee biology.

Josh

Offline Natalie

• Queen Bee
Re: New ohio guy here
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2009, 01:40:34 am »
Hello Josh and welcome to the forum!
It sounds like beekeeping has been good to you so far.
There are alot of knowledgeable people here and I think you will enjoy the forum.
If you haven't already checked out the search feature you will find so alot information on every beekeeping topic there is.
When I first joined I just read all the old threads for hours and learned so much.
I am sure there are some members from Ohio here that you can touch base with.
Happy Beekeeping!

Offline 1reb

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2009, 08:24:21 am »
Hello and Welcome Josh
There is alot of great information on the forum !!
The members here are willing help and answer your questions, all you need to do is to ask