Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Have acquired used hives, previous moth infestation. Need help!  (Read 2518 times)

Offline Swag

• New Bee
I'm fairly new to the beekeeping world and just joined this forum today. Been going through the forum today and learning, a lot of good info here.

I have two working hives and looking to expand. I bought 9 used hives bodies, bottom boards, tops, etc. I don't know the story of how this happened but when I picked up the hives I saw the aftermath of a room that was filled with, I'm told 300 hives. This room was closed and moths had infested some of the hives. This room went untouched for sometime and when they wanted to sell the hives they opened the closed room and found that the moths had gone viral for lack of a better description. The room had plywood walls and the moths had left their evidence everywhere. Anyway, all of the hive parts I acquired are covered in moth cocoons. So, what is the forums recommendation on how to make these hives serviceable again? Scrap, sand, and re-paint? Any other advice? I hope a gallon of gas and a match are not the option.  :'(

Thanks!
Swag

Offline G3farms

• Super Bee
Re: Have acquired used hives, previous moth infestation. Need help!
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2011, 09:03:03 pm »
If the frames are in bad shape.........into the burn pile, if not just scrape them clean with your hive tool and put back into service.

The boxes are the same, put a little paint on them and put back in service.

Only thing I would warn against is try to find out why the hives died out and was put into storage, or were these honey supers?

If it was American foul brood (AFB), all to the burn pile, the spores can last over 20 years.
those hot bees will have you steppin and a fetchin like your heads on fire and your keister is a catchin!!!

Bees will be bees and do as they please!

Offline sc-bee

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2011, 09:30:27 pm »