Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: What should I do with abandoned hives  (Read 5503 times)

mike

What should I do with abandoned hives
« on: June 02, 2004, 12:31:45 am »
Hi , I need some advice I am a truck farmer and am interested in keeping my own bees I have two hives that another beekeeper placed on my property to polleniate my crops. but he hasn't been back to tend to them in at least 3 years there are bees in both of them but the populations seem to be small. I am interested in reviving these hives and then expanding to more hives at this point all I know about beekeeping is what I read online I would appreciate any advice

Offline Markinaust

• New Bee
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2004, 01:02:52 am »
Hi Mike,

The very first thing I would do is find an expierenced beekeeper to help you along. I would ask him to do an initual inspection as the hive has not been tended to for so long they could be a very savage hive by now.

You will need a smoker and a veil, at least to begin with. Also some coverall overals and depending on your preference some heavy gloves till you get comfortable with the bees.

Your new found beekeeper friend could possibly advice you on what equipement the  hives will require after the initual inspection.

Good Luck

Cheers

Mark

Anonymous

« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2004, 09:59:57 am »
Thanks to John the Beemaster, who created this beekeeping online course and this forum, this website is a great Gold Mine of information.

Another universal favorite seems to be the "Beekeeping for Dummies" book.  Check it out!

Also, look online to find your state / county beekeeping association.  There is probably a couple of groups that meet in your area.  Very usefull resource.

Offline Beth Kirkley

• House Bee
    • http://www.petfinder.org/shelters/GA216.html
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2004, 08:51:51 pm »
My two cents....