Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: new beekeper questions - burr comb and queen missing?  (Read 1721 times)

Offline fthomas

• New Bee
new beekeper questions - burr comb and queen missing?
« on: May 06, 2006, 12:12:58 pm »
This is my first year and I have bought and put out 2 3# packages of italians 2 weeks ago. The first package went great and on the first frame inspection yesterday I am pretty sure I found the queen (she was almost solid black). In this hive I did not two of the frames close enough together and I now have a huge piece of burr comb
http://s55.photobucket.com/albums/g157/franklthomas/?action=view&current=BurrComb.jpg
It's large almost 10 inches long. So I was wondering if I can hang this in a frame so it won't be so much wasted effort? There is some damage to it from when I transported it. Some of the tops of the cell walls are marred and I didn't know if they would fix this?  If I can hang it what is a good method?

My second package went OK. It was a litttle more agitated when I installed it. When I removed the queen cage and fumbled around with the cork (I am already becoming disenchanted with gloves) she was so agitated that she came out of the cage and then FELL into the box.  I saw her crawl away under the frames. I could not find her readily yesterday. This hive also had a good start on the foundation and even a few capped cells. This hive has a piece of burr comb on the foundation that is kinda finger shaped? The one thing that bothered me about this hive is that I found about 5 bees dead right in front of the hive (not on the bottom board) and few in the grass.  I don't know if this is a concern or if they aren't as clean as the other hive?
So I was going to wait another week to find the queen and see if there is evidence of brood before I decide to buy a new queen?